Go Back   Online degree forum > Online Degree Discussions > Online Degree Chat
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:35 AM
online degrees online degrees is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default Instant Degrees Website

I'm just wondering... found this in error
http://www.instantdegrees.com/mainframepage.html
Can anyone tell me why they haven't been shut down?

"Legality of the College Degrees We check out the legality of every institution we act as an agent for. They give us a fees discount for providing them with Benefactors, our services are free to you. Instantdegrees.com is an authorized escrow agent for Institutions that grant instant and legal college degrees in return for a fee. No coursework involved.

Client Security NONE of the Universities or Colleges we represent advertise their "alternative" services anywhere else. The name of the institution is only revealed to you once you graduate to ensure a confidential service for all our clients.

Testimonials

"I use my Degree ( a Doctorate) as a dating ploy. I had good quality calling cards professionally printed and I always present them on being introduced to anyone. Often, I simply introduce myself to a lady I find attractive and offer the card saying that I would like to meet her for dinner at some future date, if she is amenable. More often than not, I receive a call."

"Absolutely splendid service, with minimum pain in the wallet !! I received my Doctorate Degree in 6 days, and am now busy updating my personal details (cards, passport etc), which will take a whole lot longer than obtaining my Degree".
"

I'd like to throw up now!!!

Oh, and the best part ?!?!?!? the confidentiality contract that is agreed to if you order:


"3. Confidentiality Contract By making a purchase, the Client and any associated person agree to be irrevocably bound by this Confidentiality Contract. The Client and any associated person agree in perpetuity never to reveal by act or omission of action, directly or indirectly, information that could draw or could be construed as drawing a connection between InstantDegrees.com and the Institution by any means. This includes, but is not limited to publication in printed matter, books, magazines, journals, newspapers, television, radio, multimedia, Internet, websites, Chat Rooms, Newsgroups, Forums, Usenet, telephone, mobile telephone, Wireless Access Protocol, FAX (facsimile transmissions) or emails. In the event that the Client or any associated person reveals by act or omission of action, directly or indirectly, information that could draw or could be construed as drawing a connection between InstantDegrees.com and the Institution by any means, including but is limited to information published in printed matter, books, magazines, journals, newspapers, television, radio, multimedia, Internet, websites, Chat Rooms, Newsgroups, Forums, Usenet, telephone, mobile telephone, Wireless Access Protocol, FAX (facsimile transmissions) or emails, then they shall be guilty of Breach of Contract according to the terms of this Confidentiality Contract... In the event that the Client or any associated person breaches or causes to be breached the Confidentiality Contract, they shall be liable and agree jointly and severally to pay restitution to InstantDegrees.com, on demand, the sum of $100,000 U.S. (One Hundred Thousand United States Dollars) for Breach of Contract. Any act of bad faith by the Client in not obeying and respecting the Terms of Service, Acceptable Use Policy, Disclaimer and Confidentiality Contract, as outlined in this website will be deemed to be an act of bad faith. Any Client deemed guilty of an act of bad faith, agrees to pay restitution to InstantDegrees.com, on demand, the sum of $100,000 U.S. (One Hundred Thousand United States Dollars) for an act of bad faith."


More confused than ever. It must be legal, if they have legal recourse.

It sounds pretty risky to try and get a degree from them; never know when you might break the 'bad faith' barrier.

Has anyone contacted the government to understand why their degrees are legal? I think instant degrees mentionned something about legal loopholes?

Last edited by online degrees : 05-25-2007 at 10:52 AM. Reason: Changed "The illegal continue to have legal recourse." since they are a legal company.
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 05-25-2007, 04:20 PM
cklapka cklapka is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 264
Default

If you read over the FAQ section they provide this caveat which probably allows them to stay open:
Quote:
The only real limitation concerns accreditation, which is not legally required. However, for credit transfer purposes, Institutions will normally only recognize degrees from other institutions registered with the same accreditation agency. As there are literally thousands of accrediting agencies it would be impossible to join them all. Therefore you must assume that your Instant Degree, although legal, registered and verifiable will not be useful for credit transfer purposes, this includes using the degree as a "stepping stone" to a higher degree or other post graduate programs.

All degrees available thru us are non-nationally accredited and if you feel that you require a degree with specific accreditation, then you should NOT apply.
So they are not claiming there degrees can be used for anything but show. Some states, like Oregon, require holder of such degrees to proclaim on their resumes that these degrees are not accredited.
__________________
B.C.S. Baker College
M.S. Rochester Institute of Technology(Only the capstone remains)
Visit my Linkedin page

Last edited by cklapka : 05-25-2007 at 04:22 PM.
Reply With Quote

Message from Degree.net
Thinking about getting your bachelor's degree online? Visit our Online Bachelors Degrees section for more information.
  #3  
Old 05-29-2007, 12:22 AM
Kyle's Avatar
Kyle Kyle is offline
Degree.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 372
Default

Just for general knowlage this Instant degrees or speedy degrees or beflord university is the same guy from Pakistan.

So if you think the school name is registered anywhere.

Basicly you are getting paper for Pakistan form over 400 bucks or more

LOL
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:01 AM
BrandeX BrandeX is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 95
Default

What I CAN tell you, is that is has nothing to do with Pakistan.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-30-2007, 03:59 PM
johann johann is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,202
Default Dumb, Dumber & Dumbest!

Hi!

Why are we wasting our time on Belford and instantdegrees.com?

The only thing DUMBER than their statement "the client agrees to pay $100,000 for any act of bad faith" is the person who would SIGN it (and take it seriously!)

IMO, dumbest-of-all is the notion that any part of that $100,000 could actually be COLLECTED!

Anyone who is impressed by the lies that they will get better service in airports, more and better dates etc. is pretty darn THICK!

Why are they still in business? Because STUPID people are their lawful prey.
And if they EVER make stupidity a criminal offence, a lotta people I know and work with will NEVER get out of jail!

As far as the Pakistan-or-not connection goes, a little sleuthing with "whois" and "traceroute" could provide the answer. I don't personally care! Makes no diff. at all.

I remember ONCE - years ago - I managed somehow (just surfing and pressing buttons - no hacking involved) to stumble through their site and actually see the names of some of the "um-universities" (or laser-printer templates?) they use for diplomas. I think I remember "Ratchford University" as one of them and for some reason I was never able to "get to the names" ever again - not that I really want to...

Oh yeah - now I remember - it may not have been Instantdegrees, but "Speedydegrees" that Kyle mentioned - same kind of outfit. This Wiki mentions Speedydegrees, Ratchford and all the other bogus schools and MAY have been what I found long ago:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Univers...ulting%2C_Inc..

BAD business all round!

Johann

Last edited by johann : 05-30-2007 at 04:52 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.