PDA

View Full Version : Southern Pacific University


cheer37
01-27-2007, 08:30 AM
Does any know about Southern Pacific University (www.spuni.edu)?

Whether it is a fake / bogus university?

It has been closed down in Hawaii on October 28, 2003 and here is the link http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/ocp/udgi/lawsuits/so_pac_u/ ?

cheer37
01-27-2007, 08:36 AM
Southern Pacific University website is www.spuni.edu

DRJ
01-27-2007, 05:52 PM
Does any know about Southern Pacific University (www.spuni.edu)?

Whether it is a fake / bogus university?

It has been closed down in Hawaii on October 28, 2003 and here is the link http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/ocp/udgi/lawsuits/so_pac_u/ ?

Sigh!!!!

"It has been closed down in Hawaii" because of lawsuits and because of shoddy business practices. Even if they are "legit" why would you bother?

cheer37
01-29-2007, 02:47 AM
SPU INCORPORATION AND LICENSE FROM HRP PRINCIPALITY Southern Pacific University earlier this year incorporated in Hutt River Province (HRP Principality) as a degree granting international university. Southern Pacific University is fully licensed and permitted, to provide Educational programs, seminars, electronic learning and similar, leading to the granting of academic and professional degrees, by Hutt River Province, Australasia.

Just curious! Is there such a place called Hutt River Province (HRP Principality), Australasia?

Virtual University (VU)
Virtual University (VU) is now an exclusive partner of Southern Pacific University (SPU) and all existing students of SPU would receive fully accredited joint degree award by SPU and VU. Virtual University (VU) in Monrovia is fully accredited by NATIONAL COMMISSION ON HIGHER EDUCATION and authorized by MINISTRY OF EDUCATION of Monrovia, WI.

Is such a university- Virtual University exist in Liberia, Africa? Are they legit?

Ahmed
01-29-2007, 08:21 PM
I would firstly ask the question, "Why would the state of Hawaii close down a legit university?"

Whatever the reason, that should ring alarm bells that this university is a scam, because no state would close a place for no reson.

I would follow DRJ's resoning, 'don't bother, find another legit school to study at, that is credibile, and has'nt been closed by any state'

Good Luck

cheer37
02-02-2007, 01:34 PM
Just curious since it has been closed down by the Hawaii Government as per
http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/ocp/udgi/lawsuits/so_pac_u/

Why there are people enroll for the SPU program? They are actively conduct the MBA program in my country, Vietnam.

SPU have so many agents around the world, see their web http://www.spuni.edu/spuni.edu/contactus/contactus.asp

johann
02-02-2007, 06:04 PM
Hi

(1) Is Hutt River a real place?

Yes and no - I fully outlined its history in the Dargo University thread in this forum. The Principality of Hutt River was founded in W. Australia 37 years ago by a shrewd wheat-farmer, "Prince" Leonard (Casley). He ingeniously used existing laws after a dispute with the Australian Government over wheat quotas.

Australia has never been willing to recognize this entity but has been unable to find a legal way to dissolve it in those 37 years. "Prince" Leonard established a freewheeling business climate and several er..."universities" like Dargo and South Pacific have set up here --because they are allowed to, for a fee.

Degrees from all those I have seen (at least 3) are WORTHLESS! You want more info, go to http://www.huttriver.net

(2) Is this school, Virtual University, accredited in Liberia legit?

Can't be. The war-torn country of Liberia has been and still is an infamous home for degree mills - many operated by Americans, some subsequently indicted.

The Liberian accreditation claimed by such schools was SOLD by corrupt officials. Robertstown University and St. Regis University come to mind. ST. REGIS has NO CONNECTION with the fine, Regionally Accredited REGIS University in the U.S.

(3) Why do people overseas enroll in this bogus school?

It's a shame. There are people in every country who are too easily deceived. They place hope, faith and money in obtaining a credential in English and they become victims of these villains who operate worthless "schools". I'd like to see these mill operators extradited and imprisoned in the countries of the people they victimize!!

Johann

cheer37
02-03-2007, 05:47 AM
New info I just receive, here is the owner of Southern Pacific University http://www.geoffreytaylor.net

...and guess where his PhD is from - http://www.geoffreytaylor.net/images/Ph.D.jpg. His Bachelor and MBA are both from Trinity College and University - http://www.geoffreytaylor.net/images/MBA.jpg & http://www.geoffreytaylor.net/images/B.%20Com.jpg

johann
02-03-2007, 07:30 PM
Hi -

Yeah, good catch on those er ..."degrees", Cheer37! I note that he's also "Sir" Geoffrey, not by the hand of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, but that of HRH "Prince" Leonard (Casley), ruler of Hutt River Provice!

Apparently the uh..."knighthood" was a reward for establishing an International Banking Act for Hutt River - an act that I'd suspect is as ...ahem, "freewheeling" as the one allowing the establishment of umm..."Universities" in Hutt River, like South Pacific and Dargo!

I note "Sir" Geoffrey owns another er.. "school" called Standford. Note the name-only similarity to California's fine school - Stanford. The millish (imo) "Standford" is headquarted in the revived "Principality of Seborga" - kind of Italy's equivalent of Hutt River (imo) and well-publicized by DL gurus as a MILL HAVEN. "Standford" is at http://www.standford-university.org/president.html

Funny - we have a PRISON called MILLHAVEN about 150 miles away from me....hmmm

Sorry "Sir" Geoffrey - I'm not impressed by the academic um..."qualifications" or the uh..."knighthood," not that I expect you care... :-(

Johann

cheer37
02-04-2007, 01:08 AM
Thank Johann.

"Sir" Goeffrey... this are the people who are spoil the good name of DL education.

cheer37
02-04-2007, 07:37 AM
Anyone familiar with Paramount University of Technology? Here is the website: http://university.paramount.edu

Is it true that PUT will be closed down by Wyoming Education Dept since their application for DETC accreditation has been rejected?

DRJ
02-04-2007, 11:29 PM
Anyone familiar with Paramount University of Technology? Here is the website: http://university.paramount.edu

Is it true that PUT will be closed down by Wyoming Education Dept since their application for DETC accreditation has been rejected?

The new laws in Wyoming demand that a school be accredited or in the process of accreditation. There is a time period for accreditation to occur. I suspect PUT can apply for DETC accreditaiton again and "fix" whatever is missing. Or they can move to another state which is less rigid, or Liberia, or Hutt River, or Saychelles or etc etc etc.

Tommy
03-15-2007, 08:10 AM
I just come a cross to this University last week in my country..(malaysia)

it this university fake ?? bcoz i cant find any accredited on this Uni..

please help

cheer37
03-15-2007, 05:19 PM
SOUTHERN PACIFIC UNIVERSITY is a fake university with fake accreditation.

For further information about this fake university, please visit Degreeboard.com at http://forums.degreeboard.com/showthread.php?t=13425

peter18
01-02-2009, 07:11 PM
Thank Johann.

"Sir" Goeffrey... this are the people who are spoil the good name of DL education.

the so call southern pacific university is represent by UNILOCAL in Malaysia, this company is actually own by MR. CHAN CHEE WAI who currently represent another diploma mill "University" ---- Edition University of Technology.

Many of the people here in Penang be the victim of this guy.

He ccurently appoint as the non-executive director of Mobif Bhd. in his qualification he get his MBA from southern pacific university. for sure this guy just get a simple degree from this bogus school.

you can get his information from the link as below

http://www.mobif.com.my/board_directors.php
http://announcements.bursamalaysia.com/EDMS/subweb.nsf/7f04516f8098680348256c6f0017a6bf/66625904d7f20f354825745c0037a414/$FILE/MOBIF-AnnualReport2007%20(714KB).pdf

Don't know why a listed company can appoint this type of scammer as their director??

peter18
01-02-2009, 07:27 PM
the so call southern pacific university is represent by UNILOCAL in Malaysia, this company is actually own by MR. CHAN CHEE WAI who currently represent another diploma mill "University" ---- Edition University of Technology.

Many of the people here in Penang be the victim of this guy.

He ccurently appoint as the non-executive director of Mobif Bhd. in his qualification he get his MBA from southern pacific university. for sure this guy just get a simple degree from this bogus school.

you can get his information from the link as below

http://www.mobif.com.my/board_directors.php
http://announcements.bursamalaysia.com/EDMS/subweb.nsf/7f04516f8098680348256c6f0017a6bf/66625904d7f20f354825745c0037a414/$FILE/MOBIF-AnnualReport2007%20(714KB).pdf