View Full Version : Baccalaureate
muddosick
03-20-2009, 06:16 AM
Hello Folks.....
Has anybody heard about Cambridge International College located in Jersey,Britain? Are they accredited? They offer the Baccalaureate program...is this the same as a Bachelor of Arts degree?
Thanks!
Dennis Ruhl
03-20-2009, 07:22 PM
Hello Folks.....
Has anybody heard about Cambridge International College located in Jersey,Britain? Are they accredited? They offer the Baccalaureate program...is this the same as a Bachelor of Arts degree?
Thanks!
A few things about Jersey. It is not part of the United Kingdom so British law is not uniformly applied. I have no idea how education law is applied.
Jersey is appealing to business because of the ease of incorporation and the lack of taxation. Incorporations are a cottage industry. Many iffy schools have used a Jersey address.
That said, it looks like a real school but I do not know enough to form any reasoned opinion on it.
This school is not on any list of official schools in the UK, to my knowledge.
http://www.hero.ac.uk/uk/universities___colleges/hei_listing.cfm
Also, as Dennis indicated, Jersey is a kind of pseudo place, (my apologies to the residents) not a real place where a real university might locate, more like a place where someone might rent a mailbox and for a few extra quid per month, have all the mail forwarded to someplace else on the planet.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jersey
Let it go (also, to posters, links are nice.)
Dennis Ruhl
03-20-2009, 08:33 PM
Jersey Government website:
http://www.gov.je/ESC/FAQChannel/Careers/ESCCAREERSFAQ10.htm
Only Highlands College mentioned:
Another page - not the education dept mentions Cambridge Inernational College but they say listing isn't an endorsement. Only Highlands has an ac.uk url
http://www.gov.je/EconomicDevelopment/TrainingSkillsDevelopment/Management+and+People+Skills+-+Training+Providers.htm
I suspect its legit but might question the usefulness of a degree.
vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.