|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
Just curious as to what RA/NA school has a website that end in .com?
Thanks!
__________________
ShotoJuku + Senior Moderator |
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Has somebody any comments on Liverpool University sites?
|
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi Brian -
I don't know of any RA .com's but here's a legit, well-known NA (DETC): http://www.ashworthcollege.com By the way, may I compliment you on the very good advice you have consistently given in this forum! Please keep up the excellent work! Regards, Johann |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Thanks for the compliment too!!
__________________
ShotoJuku + Senior Moderator |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi again, Brian -
Do you really regard Ashworth as a ".con" school, even though it's DETC accredited? (And yes, I know it's owned by PCDI.) I've never heard anything REALLY bad about the school -anything that would indicate it is a scam, etc. Yes, I've read several times that their customer service leaves something to be desired, particularly over the phone, but I've never heard them described as a ".con." You have to do the work and pass the proctored exams to get the (Associate) degree. Most people I've heard from feel that the academic rigor is about the same as you'd expect from any inexpensive ($50-odd a credit hour) similarly-accredited DL Associate program - like, say, Penn Foster. As I'm sure you know, Ashworth offers several Masters' programs (DETC accredited also) and the only complaint I've heard is that the price was suddenly raised from around $5000 to approx. $9,000. I get the feeling you know something about them I don't. I'd sure like to learn, if that's the case. Strangely enough, when I looked at www.detc.org to see if there were other degree-granting DETC-accredited schools with a .com domain, I found Ashworth's site listed as .edu - but it did come up as .com when I clicked on the link. A couple of other DEGREE-GRANTING DETC-accrediteds with .com domains are: http://www.holmesinstitute.com Http://www.theparalegalinstitute.com No other DETC "College" or "University" site other than Ashworth has a .com domain, it appears - just the "Institutes" named. By the way, I wish you every success with your program at CSU. Johann |
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
As for the DETC listings, yes - some have .com addresses but I would predict that sooner or later they'll be .edu addresses. Thanks for success wish form me and CSU!!! Good Luck!!
__________________
ShotoJuku + Senior Moderator |
|
#17
|
|||
|
|||
|
I am about to apply for admission to this school and I (also ) am a little concerned that it is a fraud.. Ii have searched on the net,however cannot find anything that says it is one (fraud). The masters program is a mere 19,000 euros, so it is indeed a lot of money to lose if it is not a valid school..
here are some details of the school: Laureate Online Education, the e-learning partner of The University of Liverpool Tel: +31 (0)20 713 0069 Fax: +31 (0)20 713 0013 Freephone UK Only: 0800 376 8341 Email: nico.samaras@ohecampus.com Web: http://www.uol.ohecampus.com I have indeed phone the university of liverpool and they confirmed that this company provided their e-learning online degree programs.. What ya guys fink? |
|
#18
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi -
I'm can't say positively either, but you've had one good sign. Liverpool University acknowledged Laureate as their DL partner, when you phoned. I think the following might be the acid test, here: If Liverpool University will say (IN WRITING) that your courses taken through Laureate will get you a degree that says LIVERPOOL UNIVERSITY - nothing less nothing more, then I'd have to think it's OK. And maybe ask if there's any other way to get the DL degree you want from them except through Laureate ... who knows what they'll say! I don't THINK it's a fraud. Here's my chief reason: I note they advertise Sallie Mae financing is available to US students. Anybody can jump in and correct me if needed, but I don't THINK Sallie Mae knowingly finances study at fraudulent schools, do they? There's a long prospectus (PDF) on the website. I read a fair bit of it and they cite the right stuff (QAA etc) and it certainly doesn't read at all like material from any "goatbag" I've ever encountered, to use Dr. George Gollin's apt term. Sure, I've read stuff on the mill-sites that was lifted verbatim from legit schools. This prospectus doesn't look like that to me - but I'm no expert. Have a good long hard look at that document, and maybe phone Liverpool once more and get them to WRITE EXACTLY what school's name would appear on your degree and if the program can be done by DL by any other means than Laureate. My instinct says it's legit although only Laureate/Liverpool can offer proof positive, or an alternative way to the degree you want. I certainly think you're wise to be suspicious -19,000 euros is a lot of money! There are people who post here who know WAY more about British DL education than I ever will - Dr. John Bear, for instance. C'mon experts --weigh in here! I wish you well. Johann Last edited by johann : 10-17-2006 at 07:50 PM. |
|
#19
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi again - another good sign is:
When you go to the www.liv.ac.uk site and click on "Study at Liverpool/ Online Degrees" the page you're taken to (still the Univ. site) tells you first thing that their distance ed. partner is Laureate. On further enquiry, you link from the University site ITSELF to the .com site originally questioned. If this is a fraud - nothing is impossible - then it's gotta be the most elaborate "unfraudly-looking" one I've ever seen! Johann |
|
#20
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
