|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
anyone heard of this school? A recently hired colleague has a Business Administration degree from this school listed on his resume (but no mention of this school in the press release announcing his hiring).
|
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
They do not have the appropriate authorization from South Africa to issue degrees.
|
| Message from Degree.net |
| Browse our Online College Directory for more information on accredited online colleges. |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi -
Yeah... they're the guys at www.cambridgeinternationaluniv.co.za , right? They claim accreditation from "GAOLEE" - unrecognized (by me) outfit that "accredits" life experience degrees. The bachelor's program at Cambridge International is 120 units, and all 120 can be obtained via life experience. That says enough, right there! They are also on the Oregon list, with the same comment as posted by larryjf above. I am VERY surprised that they are still operating in South Africa, as that country is usually pretty strict and quite quick in shutting down schools that are not SAQA-accredited. Maybe our colleague Ahmed, who lives there, could tell us what's going on? Johann Last edited by johann : 05-14-2007 at 06:13 PM. |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
thank you Johann and Larry. I did some additional research and found the South Africa site www.cambridgeinternationaluniv.co.za you noted and this one http://www.ciu-edu.com/ These sites are funny. E.g. South Africa has quotes from students about life in South Africa, yet it is admittedly 100% online - I can't find an address anywhere.
My suspicions are confirmed. I'll bounce around this forum for other links, but if you have any information that I might not otherwise find on this (or these) school, please forward. Thank you, |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi -
If your place is hiring people with "degrees" from schools like this, maybe I can get a job there, before it goes under (LOL) ! But then again, I graduated - at my own expense in my 40s and 50s - from two REAL colleges! ROFLMAO! (At your employer's HR honcho!) I checked the other site you mentioned and yeah - BOUA and UCOEA are two of the best-known bogus (i.e. non-CHEA-recognized) "accreditation" outfits. The beast appears to be a CLONE of the well-known Rochville - Roachville- Retchville thing we've previously discussed in the Almeda etc. "Frankenthread" now closed. If your stomach is strong enough, check out www.rochvilleuniversity.org The webpage format, fee details and the BOUA and UCOEA um..."accreditations" are identical. (Still ROFLMAO) Johann P.S. Silly fact: If you look at the fee structure, an Associate Degree (2 yr) costs $1000 MORE than a Bachelor's (4 yr.) How smart is that? Last edited by johann : 05-14-2007 at 10:21 PM. |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
hi
Cambridge University is not listed on the http://www.saqa.org.za/, this site has all the recognised schools in SA, that means that this school is operating illegally in South Africa. My bet is it just a matter of time before the South African authorities close this school down. Just a few years ago the South African government closed a few schools for offering substandard MBA programmes. This school is also offering a substandard MBA programme, and I am sure the authorities have not yet heard about this school. But they will soon, and the will close it down |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi -
This is WAY worse than "substandard" or plain "unaccredited," Ahmed! This is a Rochville clone! I think the only South African aspect of this school is their .za domain - which may not mean anything. They're obviously "fishing" for South African customers from somewhere offshore. I'm sure there isn't a campus location for SAQA to close. I can't even find a South African address used as a maildrop! Just got it! The IP number is 64.202.189.104 - Domain Registration by GoDaddy and server address is the VERY familiar 14455 N. Hayden Rd Scottsdale Arizona USA. So much for their South African presence! Laughable! Go get 'em, SAQA police! Johann Last edited by johann : 05-22-2007 at 04:39 PM. |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Yes Johann
You are right, there is no physical address and they know very well that if they have aphysical address they will get a visit from SAQA authoritise. So, it is like impossible to be closed. But people just have to beware of this place. Thats the best advise I could give anyone who is considering CIU. And you right, they say they are based in Cape Town, Cape Town is a big city, something like New York, there is no street name, no physical address, not even a phone number. This is nothing more than a scam BEWARE OF THIS PLACE, DONT ENROLL HERE |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi -
I found two other umm..."schools" that hide-behind-proxies via the same address in Scottsdale AZ as Cambridge International University. I believe both Redding University and Myers College have been mentioned in mill-ology postings in this forum. What's funny is: THEY BOTH USE THE SAME GRAPHIC FOR A CAMPUS! Was one more jpeg just too much trouble? ROFLMAO! www.reddinguniversity.com www.myerscollege-edu.net Again --- Case closed! Time for me to hang up the gun and bifocals for the night! Johann |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|